Kanye vs. 50 Cent

(Ed.’s note: This post is a cleaned-up version of an email my old roommate, Anthony, sent me in regards to the new 50 Cent and Kanye West CDs.)

Kanye West 50

So let me break it down to you like this. I’ve had both CDs for a week and I think they’re both sub-par. 50’s is worse than Kanye’s, but neither is earth-shattering by any means.

The best song on 50’s CD is probably “Ayo for Techology,” but I also like the song with Tony Yayo (“Tough the Sky”). The rest of the CD is essentially boring and I’ve probably only listened to the whole thing three or four times. Plus he has a song with Robin Thicke.

I guess what I don’t understand is the type of audience 50 is trying to play to. It seems like his music is too hard for adults, but too soft for teens. He’s not really very good at anything and it particularly shows on this CD.

I was thinking about it after I read a lot about him. Basically, he wants to make albums with 15 or 16 potential singles on them. Unfortunately, that formula never works because it doesn’t create a cohesive or listenable album. What it sounds like is someone who made a mix CD off iTunes of all the popular music on the radio, but it was all made by one artist, and by the end of the mix it just gets tiresome.

I found the same thing to be true with Fabolous’s latest CD. The serious songs are tough to take seriously because you just heard like 11 pop-friendly radio hits. If he wanted to do that, he should have at least gotten T-Pain. I’ve gotten to the point where I actually think I’d rather hear T-Pain than Akon — and maybe that’s why I like Kanye’s CD better. He chose the right gimmick of the two.

Kanye’s CD is more of the same, but I just find it more listenable. I would say I’ve probably listened to it back-to-front about 20 times. I really like a few songs on there — namely “Stronger,” “Good Life,” “Barry Bonds” (tho Lil’ Wayne’s verse isn’t exactly his best stuff), “The Glory” and “Homecoming.”

The rest of the CD, especially “Drunk and Hot Girls” is not very good and I really don’t like “Big Brother,” because I feel like he just ganked the idea from The Game’s “Doctor’s Advocate” (which incidentally is a bit ironic because the Game has been jacking people’s names for like every song he’s ever done).

“Good Morning” is fine and so is “Champion,” but they are certainly nothing like the first two songs on his first two CDs (We Don’t Care / All Falls Down and Heard ’em Say / Touch the Sky).

All in all, I think it was a fairly disappointing CD drop. The truth of the matter is there hasn’t really been any superb CD releases this year aside from Bone Thugz and the Lil’ Wayne mixtape.

If it wasn’t Kanye and 50 Cent, I don’t even think I would really listen to the CDs at all. But it’s sort of like watching Bonds after he broke the record; even though I know in my heart it isn’t exciting, I still feel like I should participate.

Leave a Reply

