Manny Ramirez is off his rocker

Manny Ramirez

Manny Ramirez is off his rocker. My favorite baseball player (since 2001, really, for all you haters-turned-fans out there) is at it again. This year we find out he’s into reading now, does yoga, meditates and wants to stay with the Sox for four more years. Can anyone predict this lovable slugger?

“You’ve got to be a boat knowing where you’re going,” said Manny to Howard Ulman in a Thursday AP article. “We’ve got money. We’re famous. But you’ve got to know what you want.”

Sure.

“Hey, you’re the architect of your life,” he said. “Let me tell you something. We’ve got so much bad stuff inside, it’s up to us to make the best of it.”

On repeating as champs:

“If we want to repeat, we’re going to go and do it. Everything is possible in life. Hey, whatever you want to be in life, you could be.”

On if his struggles last year — when he hit .296 with 20 HRs and 88 RBI – are an indication that he’s slowing down:

“You crazy?” Ramirez said pleasantly. “I’m one of the best players in the league. That’s last year.”

On the Sox picking up his option years:

“I’m going to have it. No doubt. Hey, I’m Manny Ramirez.”

And from Tony Massarotti in today’s Herald:

“I’m gonna get four more years here, man. I’m going to get the two options and I’m going to get two more years.”

Have the Sox already talked to him about it?

“They don’t need to,” Ramirez answered in his typically carefree nature. “I know I’m going to get it.”

Haha..you gotta love Manny. You just have to. So goofy and ill. He’s talking to the media a lot this year. Seems more confident than ever and looks like he’s pretty much campaigning to stay with the Sox. I hope he has a huge year and the Sox pick up at least one of his options. Can you imagine a world with no Manny? I don’t want to try.

I’m ready for this baseball season. Is Manny?

“I’m ready to go. My timing is good,” Ramirez said. “I’m ready. I can’t wait to go to Japan. I’m ready. “[I’ve been ready] since the end of last season. Let’s go to Japan today.”

Leave a Reply

